top of page

LEARNING TO BE A KIWI

Jessica Sherman

Search
  • Writer's pictureJess Sherman

Softball Zonals

This week I had the opportunity to be a coach for the Tirimonas girls softball team on Thursday. When I was in elementary school and middle school I played softball for 8-9 years and I loved the game, but after I tore my ACL the first time I never found my way back to the sport. When one of the teachers found out I used to play he immediately told me that I was needed and that I was going to go to the western Auckland primary school tournament to help coach the girls team for year 5&6. For two weeks we practiced during morning tea and sometimes during lunch as well. A lot of the girls had never played softball before so it was fun to be on the other side of thing and teach girls about the sport and watch them as they got excited when they were able to finally do something successfully after trying many times on a skill.

On thursday we packed up our bags and drove to the softball fields. To welcome all the teams to the tournament, one of the schools did a hakka chant which is a maori tradition.



There were 5 teams in total for the girls, we played out first game vs Flanshaw primary school and lost 2-7. By the second inning the girls had already started getting the hang of the game and the second game we won 8-3 vs peninsula primary school. The girls then had a bye so we relaxed under the trees, it was already 85 degrees by 11 am! We played Edmonton Primary school and lost 0-2, the game was close and there were girls on the team that have played softball before which made the game very exciting to watch! The next game was the same way, we lost 3-4 but the game was exciting and the girls were having so much fun. Watching them from the beginning of the day to their four game of the day was dramatically different! The girls qualified to play in the 3rd and 4th place game, but there was a 20 minute break so we decided to cheer on the TIrimoana boys team!



The consolation game was a proud moment as a coach, we played Flanshaw primary school again and before the game we overheard them talking, saying they had this game in the bag since they already beat us before. This fueled the girls up and we ended up beating them 8-0! Almost every girl had hit the ball into play and one girl even got a homerun! The girls were laughing and having so much fun, as competitive as I am, this made coaching the girls worth it! The girls got 3rd place and the boys lost the first place spot by one point! I would say it was a successful day for Tirimoana!



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Thank You New Zealand

Now that I am home, sitting in my room looking around at the piles of stuff falling out of my suitcase I cannot help but reflect in my time in New Zealand. I know this is a school blog, but I feel it'

USA vs New Zealand

During the past couple of weeks through my conversations with my students at school, my homestay family, and being emerged in the country I have realized New Zealand has its own slang. Although Kiwis

Home: Blog2

Subscribe

Stay up to date

Home: GetSubscribers_Widget
Home: Contact

About Me

My name is Jessica Sherman, but I go by Jess or Sherm as my friends would say. This fall I have the incredible opportunity to Student Teach at Tirimoana Primary School in Te Aatu South right outside of Auckland New Zealand. I love traveling and seeing new places and learning all that the area, culture, and people have to offer. The summer of 2017 I spent the summer in Yellowstone National Park in Wyoming, USA and this past summer, 2018, I lived and worked in Zion National Park in Utah, USA. While I was there I was able to travel all over the west and my eyes were opened to how much was out there that I had no idea about.  had always wanted to Student Teach abroad, but while I was out west I realized that it was something that I was going to do. I am from St. Louis, Missouri and go to St. Norbert College in De Pere, Wisconsin which is located near Green Bay, Wisconsin. I am a fifth year student at SNC and pursing my degree in Elementary and Middle School Education with a minor in English as a Second Language and Language Arts. During my time at SNC I played Ice Hockey for the woman's team at SNC and for the first time in 18 years I will not be playing the sport that has shaped me into the person I am today. As I move into this new chapter of life I am anxious to see where life takes me starting with my adventure abroad! 

Take some time to explore the blog and feel free to reach out if you have questions or comments about my travels, teaching, or time here in Kiwi land! 

Home: Inner_about
bottom of page