top of page

LEARNING TO BE A KIWI

Jessica Sherman

Search
  • Writer's pictureJess Sherman

Rotorua

This weekend was the last weekend that Bobbi and Heather had in New Zealand and Bobbi's host mom, which is also my cooperating teacher took us to Rotorua for the weekend. On friday night, before we left, we helped the teachers clean up their classrooms and then helped set up for year 6 graduation, When night came year 6 had a disco/color explosion graduation party full of dancing and food all night. It was so much fun to watch the kids run around and all dressed up in clothing outside of their usual school uniforms. Us Americans killed it on the dance floor needless to say.



On saturday morning we woke up early and headed to Rotorua. When we got there I went to the Hobbiton movie set tour in matamata and Bobbi and Miriana went Christmas shopping. The tour was beautiful in the rolling farm hills of New Zealand and the Hobbit houses were neat to see placed in the ground. At the end I even got a drink in the pub that the characters went to in the movies. There were a lot of people from the states and I even met someone that knew someone that went to my high school! Small world



After the tour Bobbi and Miriana picked me up from the tour and we grabbed some lunch. After lunch we headed to Te Puia which is where geysers, geothermal features, a kiwi house, and even a cultural Maori experience show and university was held. We went to watch the Maori haka dance and then went on a tour with a tour guide around the park. Seeing geothermal features and geysers made me feel like I was back at yellowstone again. The woman that lead us on our tour was very informative and shared a lot of personal and inside experience about the Maori culture, even more than I had learned at school. The money that you pay to enter into the gates of Te puia went to funding a traditional Maori degree in arts and crafts for the university the museum/experience created to help bring back traditions from the Maori culture. We watched people do bone/rock carving which is a very sacred gift you give people that mean a lot to you. Then we saw traditional wood carving which takes hours and hours to create, all wood carvings that are sold in store around New Zealand are hand made and are symbols in Maori culture. Then we saw the weaving school where they took plant harakeke to create weaving and traditional clothing, which was incredible to watch them turn plants into pieces of clothing.



After Te Puia we went to the Green and Blue lakes which are lakes that you can see straight through the bottom of the lake it is so clear and they are green and blue when looking out across the water. I was in awe the lakes were so beautiful, It reminded me a lot of flathead lake in Montana near Glacier national park.



After seeing the lakes we went to Rotorua lake and drove around government gardens, which is where the the former governor used to stay and they have now turned into a museum and garden. The museum had been shut down due to it not being up to earthquake regulation standards.



We grabbed some dinner and headed to the Redwood forest. They had a Redwood forest just like the redwood forest in California but they connected some of the trees with swinging bridges. There were 23 total bridges, we did one loop around the bridges during the day light and one loop after it grew dark outside. On some of the trees there were lanterns made with recycled materials such as bamboo and bark. What an incredible site to see even it being so different from daytime to night time.



After walking around for a long while we got some ice cream and went back to the motel we were staying out. I was dead tired and fell asleep right away. The next morning we woke up, grabbed some breakfast and headed to Hamilton. We went to the Hamilton Gardens which had a garden featuring a lot of different cultures from all around the world, it was very creative and calming to walk around the large gardens.



When we got tired of walking, we headed to grab some food a local pub and headed home. That night we had a syndicate dinner and a lot of teachers and families came over for a barbie (BBQ New Zealand style). It was fun to see the teachers outside of school and hang out in a relaxed environment



What a great last weekend in the North island! This week is the last week of school so the kids are very excited to start their summer vacation!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Thank You New Zealand

Now that I am home, sitting in my room looking around at the piles of stuff falling out of my suitcase I cannot help but reflect in my time in New Zealand. I know this is a school blog, but I feel it'

USA vs New Zealand

During the past couple of weeks through my conversations with my students at school, my homestay family, and being emerged in the country I have realized New Zealand has its own slang. Although Kiwis

Home: Blog2

Subscribe

Stay up to date

Home: GetSubscribers_Widget
Home: Contact

About Me

My name is Jessica Sherman, but I go by Jess or Sherm as my friends would say. This fall I have the incredible opportunity to Student Teach at Tirimoana Primary School in Te Aatu South right outside of Auckland New Zealand. I love traveling and seeing new places and learning all that the area, culture, and people have to offer. The summer of 2017 I spent the summer in Yellowstone National Park in Wyoming, USA and this past summer, 2018, I lived and worked in Zion National Park in Utah, USA. While I was there I was able to travel all over the west and my eyes were opened to how much was out there that I had no idea about.  had always wanted to Student Teach abroad, but while I was out west I realized that it was something that I was going to do. I am from St. Louis, Missouri and go to St. Norbert College in De Pere, Wisconsin which is located near Green Bay, Wisconsin. I am a fifth year student at SNC and pursing my degree in Elementary and Middle School Education with a minor in English as a Second Language and Language Arts. During my time at SNC I played Ice Hockey for the woman's team at SNC and for the first time in 18 years I will not be playing the sport that has shaped me into the person I am today. As I move into this new chapter of life I am anxious to see where life takes me starting with my adventure abroad! 

Take some time to explore the blog and feel free to reach out if you have questions or comments about my travels, teaching, or time here in Kiwi land! 

Home: Inner_about
bottom of page