top of page

LEARNING TO BE A KIWI

Jessica Sherman

Search
  • Writer's pictureJess Sherman

Coromandel Peninsula or bust

This weekend, five of the students I came her with and I packed our bags and road tripped to the Coromandel Peninsula. The peninsula is known for their beautiful beaches and scenery and something that all the teachers and people we talked to recommended for us to do before we left.

After school on friday, I took a bus to the juicy rental car place and picked up a van for our road trip! I swung by and picked up the rest of the clan who was waiting at their school. It was nice to see everyone because I do not have much of an opportunity to see the other four students that are placed at swanson school up the road from us. We put all our baggage in the trunk loaded all five of us in the van and we were off! Someone from Swanson school let us stay at their batch (beach house) for the weekend so after about 3 hours of driving and getting stuck in traffic, we finally made it to hahei beach. We watched a bit of the sunset and headed to the batch to cook some dinner.



The next morning we woke up and headed over to hot water beach. It was raining and a bit cold for a day at the beach, but hot water has a unique quality about it. When you dig in the sand, hot water comes running out from the sand creating a hot water pool all around you. The further you dig, the more water gets into the barrier that you create for yourself. There are specific places on the beach where the sand and water are boiling hot and certain places that could be cold. We could dig a hole and the water from the sand could be cold and move a yard away and the water could be boiling hot like a sauna.

We spent all afternoon on the beach sitting in the hot water pools alongside the beach at low tide even as it rained on us. We were surrounded by about 100 or more people on the beach, but it seemed that it didnt matter the weather, or anything else, we were all very content with our afternoons.



After hot water beach we went home and cooked some dinner and enjoyed each others company that night. The next morning we woke up, cooked some breakfast, packed up and cleaned the batch and headed out to cathedral cove. Cathedral cove is a well known track throughout New Zealand and was even part of the filming in one of Narnia movies. We hiked down to the cove and sat amazed at the beauty of the beach around us thinking how we were in paradise.





After we got back to our car, we decided to drive all the way up to the tip of the coromandel peninsula because my host father told me that it was worth the drive for how beautiful it was. What we did not know is that the roads were all gravel and very narrow as we winded our way through the hills and mountains. One of my friends dreams was to pet a sheep so we met a farmer on our drive that let us pet some of his sheep from the sheep farm. Sheep are quite dull and are terrified even sometimes of themselves so it was kind of funny to watch her try and pet the sheep.



When we finally made it to the tip, I drove right into the sand of the beach and managed to get us stuck in the sand so someone had to drag us out. Typical. After spending some time and soaking up the sunset, we drove home and got home to Auckland late at night tired but full from a weekend of american food, laughs, and new memories from paradise.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Thank You New Zealand

Now that I am home, sitting in my room looking around at the piles of stuff falling out of my suitcase I cannot help but reflect in my time in New Zealand. I know this is a school blog, but I feel it'

USA vs New Zealand

During the past couple of weeks through my conversations with my students at school, my homestay family, and being emerged in the country I have realized New Zealand has its own slang. Although Kiwis

Home: Blog2

Subscribe

Stay up to date

Home: GetSubscribers_Widget
Home: Contact

About Me

My name is Jessica Sherman, but I go by Jess or Sherm as my friends would say. This fall I have the incredible opportunity to Student Teach at Tirimoana Primary School in Te Aatu South right outside of Auckland New Zealand. I love traveling and seeing new places and learning all that the area, culture, and people have to offer. The summer of 2017 I spent the summer in Yellowstone National Park in Wyoming, USA and this past summer, 2018, I lived and worked in Zion National Park in Utah, USA. While I was there I was able to travel all over the west and my eyes were opened to how much was out there that I had no idea about.  had always wanted to Student Teach abroad, but while I was out west I realized that it was something that I was going to do. I am from St. Louis, Missouri and go to St. Norbert College in De Pere, Wisconsin which is located near Green Bay, Wisconsin. I am a fifth year student at SNC and pursing my degree in Elementary and Middle School Education with a minor in English as a Second Language and Language Arts. During my time at SNC I played Ice Hockey for the woman's team at SNC and for the first time in 18 years I will not be playing the sport that has shaped me into the person I am today. As I move into this new chapter of life I am anxious to see where life takes me starting with my adventure abroad! 

Take some time to explore the blog and feel free to reach out if you have questions or comments about my travels, teaching, or time here in Kiwi land! 

Home: Inner_about
bottom of page